Unravelling and weaving, sometimes simultaneously

Vine

Lying next to you is the best thing

I have in my life…

something so overwhelming sometimes

I have to close my eyes against

the sense of fullness

that surrounds us.

With my head on your shoulder,

arm across your belly

nestled in your strong grasp

gentled for me

I feel as though I have been given

the most beautiful gift in the world

a growing thing

a vine of sweet communion

where my thoughts are your thoughts

and your dreams are mine

where there’s laughter

camaraderie

comfort and joy.

You are my best friend

keeper of my secrets

the quiet night rain

when I thought all hope had passed

in my soul’s drought

but then awakened in the dark

to the scent of ozone

and release

from the heavy cover of waiting.

There you are,

quenching my thirst

softening me,

embracing me,

coaxing me to grow again.

(c) RCGA, 2013

I have been writing steadily all month, but in a file and on paper… today I’m going to try to get some of the poems moved over, finish out the month here. It’s been an interesting time, doing this writing every day… I may take a break and then do it again. I have been in my “strange space” for a few days, reflective on what midlife is about, on gains and losses, chances taken and missed, etc. etc. I think the Universe likes me to stay on my toes, wants me to stop putting rocks in my pockets and just keep walking. God, life is amazing.

Leave a Reply

The Boiler

a journal of new literature

Surviving Grief

How to embrace grief and heal

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Tales of haunted hotel floors and faraway myths

Some of my short stories, draft ideas and everyday tautologies.

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

Arrows & Metaphors

M. Sanchez Cayuso

Inwardly Digest

Reflections and thoughts on faith, life, and the Christian Tradition

Mohn Foto

Photography

SCAeveryday

Society for Creative Anachronism Every Day of Your Life!

Ranger Medic Nurd

Thoughts of a Park Ranger turned EMS about nurdy cool stuff!

rivrvlogr

Looking ahead, without looking back (too often)

Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

MyGreedyLove

Dating, Sex, Rants, Relationships, Non-monogamy and Random Shenanigans

eBayism School of Thought

AWAKENING THE SLEEPING READERS

