Unravelling and weaving, sometimes simultaneously

The Opposite of Casual

Yes, it may be just as easy
to fall in love
with a rich man
as a poor one

if you don’t mind being
the camel
on its knees
making its way through
the needle

Despite mother’s dictum
I tried it early
and ran away
selling my picket fence
for the chance
to run in untamed fields

Once or twice
when I said
to another wandering soul

Oh, let’s not marry
let’s just play
I’ll be your sister golden hair
you can be
my leader of the pack
we can thunder across the landscape
of this crazy place
or some other
until we ease the pain

somehow my grasping hand
found another in it
and caught up short
I slipped into domesticity

with no desire
to shake free

and yet in some twist
the great forever
always managed
to unlace my fingers

Now
though I feel a little ruined
for the midway
not as easy with the open road
standing on the sidewalk
peering over picket fences
into warmly lit windows
framing circles
I will never know

I feel you standing
tall and warm behind me
your eyes fixed
on the same tableau

and I am afraid
you are going
to reach for my hand

(c) RCGA 2015

Leave a Reply

The Boiler

a journal of new literature

Surviving Grief

How to embrace grief and heal

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Tales of haunted hotel floors and faraway myths

Some of my short stories, draft ideas and everyday tautologies.

Kosmogonic

Submitting to the Glorious Inevitable

Arrows & Metaphors

M. Sanchez Cayuso

Inwardly Digest

Reflections and thoughts on faith, life, and the Christian Tradition

Mohn Foto

Photography

SCAeveryday

Society for Creative Anachronism Every Day of Your Life!

Ranger Medic Nurd

Thoughts of a Park Ranger turned EMS about nurdy cool stuff!

rivrvlogr

Looking ahead, without looking back (too often)

Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

MyGreedyLove

Dating, Sex, Rants, Relationships, Non-monogamy and Random Shenanigans

eBayism School of Thought

AWAKENING THE SLEEPING READERS

