Never averse to a verse.

I hear your buzzing, and it drives me mad,
that soft, incessant humming that you do;
though you are not my enemy (I’m glad),
I’m still tempted to hit you with my shoe.
But I’m resolved to let your buzzing be
(Ha, did you catch that… bee? You are not one)
live and let live as long as there’s no stings.
You really push my human frailty
droning against my window in the sun
fabric chuffing on your beating wings.

I opened up the window for you twice
and shooed you towards it; but you clung there, staid
red body pushed against the glass, a vice
too stubborn to escape when you were bade.
What festers in that tiny brain of yours
that keeps you in, but beats against the wall,
unable to take freedom freely shown,
yet constantly seeks to be out of doors?
Wee russet warrior, you are very small
yet fierce determined, tap, and chuff, and drone.

I could just redPaperWaspcapture you and set you free
against your will into the sultry air;
but it’s become a test twixt you and me,
and giving in just doesn’t seem quite fair.
So I will sit, and listen to your hum
two feet away from a wide open door,
and contemplate the qualities of glass
and wonder what’s made my ambitions numb,
that I do not push boundaries like before,
but seek the least resistant route bypass.

(c) RCGA 2016

Leave a comment

Ailish Sinclair

Stories and photos from Scotland

amiviku

Analyse own life

Sharon Wray

Stories of adventure, suspense, and love. Beautifully told.

The Alchemist's Studio

Raku pottery, vases, and gifts

Diary of an Aesthete

Follow the Journey β˜©π“€™π“ƒ¦β˜‰

Longing For Water

Casting for the Deep

Novel Writing Festival

Monthly Festival : Turn your book into a movie and get it seen by 1000s of people. Or garner FULL FEEDBACK from publishers on your novel and help your next draft. Or get a transcript video of your novel performed by professional actors.

In Pursuit of Medieval Excellence

My Journey to Create and Promote Medieval Arts Within the Society for Creative Anachronism

ICONS AND THEIR INTERPRETATION

Information for the objective student of Russian, Greek, and Balkan icons

La-vav

La-vav is a transliteration of the word heart in Biblical Hebrew. La-vav is a blog with stories of the heart collected from my engagement with Scripture, poetry and art.

Jane Austen's World

This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.

Parapsychology

News, History, Research

Crime Fiction Writer Sue Coletta

Inside the mind of a crime writer

The Cat's Write

Milly Schmidt

charles french words reading and writing

An exploration of writing and reading

Poetry & Stories

From soul to soul

The Scotto Grotto (org)

Welcome to my wall scrawls.

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf